Title Image

Yamaha YZF-R1

The Yamaha YZF-R1 has proved itself on and off the track, claiming victory in the Suzuka 8 Hours endurance race alongside the British and American Superbike Championship titles during the first year of its triumphant return to motorsports in 2015. The R1 has since gone on to make it four consecutive victories at Suzuka (2015, 2016, 2017, 2018), plus also won the 2016/2017 FIM Endurance World Championship in the hands of the GMT94 Yamaha Official EWC Team. In 2018 the YZF-R1 secured three race wins in the FIM Superbike World Championship, with Michael van der Mark adding a fourth victory in 2019 when he took the race win in Jerez.


Replicating the production motorcycle, the WorldSBK-Spec YZF-R1 is adapted for World Championship competition by removing road-safety aspects such as headlights and wing-mirrors, replacing bodywork with racing items and allowing modifications to engine management, exhaust systems, suspension, brakes and a number of engine parts. Current regulations stipulate the bike must weigh a minimum of 168kg, with power ranging between 750cc and 1200cc, depending on the number of cylinders the engine contains, while the tuning of race machines is now subject to more limitations than in previous years due to the restriction of technical modifications.


Now in their fifth year back in the FIM Superbike World Championship, Yamaha has been showing the competition what makes them one of the most well respected and timeless names in motorsport. With consistent results and year on year improvements to form, the YZF-R1 earned six podiums in 2017 for the Pata Yamaha WorldSBK Team’s Alex Lowes (4) and Michael van der Mark (2), establishing them as regular podium contenders by the end of the season.

A program of continual development saw the YZF-R1 even more competitive in 2018, securing 14 podium finishes in the hands of van der Mark (10) and Lowes (4), with both riders claiming their first WorldSBK race wins during the season. Van der Mark dominated the Donington Park round to win both races.


The Pata Yamaha pairing of Lowes and van der Mark were consistent front runners throughout the 2019 season, with van der Mark securing his third WorldSBK race win aboard the Pata Yamaha YZF-R1 in Jerez.


The 2020 WorldSBK grid will again feature five Yamaha YZF-R1 machines. Michael van der Mark will be joined at the Pata Yamaha WorldSBK Official Team by Toprak Razgatlıoğlu. The GRT Yamaha WorldSBK Junior Team will feature two up and coming young riders in American Garrett Gerloff and Italian Federico Caricasulo, while the Ten Kate Yamaha WorldSBK Supported Team will once again field Frenchman Loris Baz aboard their YZF-R1.

Yamaha YZF R1 Michael van der Mark
Engine type: Liquid-cooled, 4-stroke, DOHC, forward-inclined parallel 4-cylinder, 4-valves
Displacement: 998cc
Bore and Stroke: 79.0mm x 50.9mm
Maximum power: over 220 P.S.
Lubrication system: Wet sump
Clutch type: Wet, Multiple Disc
Fuel system: Fuel Injection
Ignition system: Marelli MLE
Starter system: Electric
Transmission system: Constant Mesh, 6-speed
Final transmission: Chain
Frame: Aluminium Deltabox
Front suspension system: Ohlins Ø 42 mm
Front travel: 130 mm
Caster angle: 24º (+/- 1º)
Rear suspension system: Swingarm, (link suspension)
Rear travel: 120 mm
Front brake: Hydraulic dual disc, Ø 336mm Brembo
Rear brake: Hydraulic single disc, Ø 218 mm Brembo
Front tyre: 120/70 17” Pirelli
Rear tyre: 200/50 17” Pirelli

Overall length: 2,055 mm
Overall width: 690 mm
Overall height: 1,150 mm
Seat height: 855 mm
Wheel base: 1,450 mm (+/- 15)
Minimum ground clearance: 130 mm
Wet weight: 168 kg
Fuel tank capacity: 24 litres
Oil tank capacity: 3.9 litres